Foundation Trilogy - Isaac Asimov (Radio Theatre)

Book Cover
Average Rating
BN Publishing, 2019.
Available Online
Loading Description...
Also in this Series
Checking series information...
More Like This
Loading more titles like this title...
More Details
Physical Description
7h 49m 0s
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
APA Citation (style guide)

Isaac Asimov., Isaac Asimov|AUTHOR., & Geoffrey Beevers|READER. (2019). Foundation Trilogy - Isaac Asimov (Radio Theatre). BN Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Isaac Asimov, Isaac Asimov|AUTHOR and Geoffrey Beevers|READER. 2019. Foundation Trilogy - Isaac Asimov (Radio Theatre). BN Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Isaac Asimov, Isaac Asimov|AUTHOR and Geoffrey Beevers|READER, Foundation Trilogy - Isaac Asimov (Radio Theatre). BN Publishing, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Isaac Asimov, Isaac Asimov|AUTHOR, and Geoffrey Beevers|READER. Foundation Trilogy - Isaac Asimov (Radio Theatre). BN Publishing, 2019.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDfac08342-894a-9ab3-ec4c-8471c6649e49
Full titlefoundation trilogy isaac asimov radio theatre
Authorasimov isaac
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2021-07-06 21:00:41PM
Last Indexed2021-07-26 06:08:43AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcehoopla
First LoadedDec 17, 2020
Last UsedApr 1, 2021

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
    [year] => 2019
    [artist] => Isaac Asimov
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] =>
    [titleId] => 13227620
    [isbn] => 9784884895891
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Foundation Trilogy - Isaac Asimov (Radio Theatre)
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array

    [duration] => 7h 49m 0s
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
            [0] => stdClass Object
                    [name] => Isaac Asimov
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR

            [1] => stdClass Object
                    [name] => Geoffrey Beevers
                    [relationship] => READER


    [genres] => Array
            [0] => Fiction
            [1] => Teen

    [price] => 1.69
    [id] => 13227620
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => AUDIOBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => The Foundation Trilogy (BBC Radio)

Isaac Asimov's The Foundation Trilogy adapted in eight hour-long episodes by the BBC, first broadcast in 1973, and repeated in 1977 and 2002.

1 Episodes
1.1 Psychohistory and Encyclopedia
1.2 The Mayors
1.3 The Merchant Princes
1.4 The General
1.5 The Mule
1.6 Flight From The Mule
1.7 The Mule Finds
1.8 Star's End
2 Changes From The Written Trilogy
3 Principal Cast
4 External links
5 References


Originally broadcast in 8 parts, between 6 May and 24 June 1973.

Psychohistory and Encyclopedia

The opening episode begins on Trantor, capital of the Galactic Empire, with the meeting of Seldon and Dornick, their trial, and their exile to Terminus. The action then jumps forward fifty years, to the first Seldon Crisis, where the repercussions of the recent independence of the Four Kingdoms of the Periphery are being felt on Terminus, and are handled by the first Mayor, Salvor Hardin.

The Mayors

The scene moves forward a further twenty years, as Mayor Hardin faces down the domination of the nearby and most powerful Kingdom, Anacreon.

The Merchant Princes

150 years after the Foundation was established, the now powerful trading nation faces its greatest threat to date, guided by master trader Hober Mallow.

The General

Two hundred years after its creation, the Foundation battles Bel Riose, the last powerful General of the dying Galactic Empire.

The Mule

A further hundred years have passed, and the Foundation is challenged by an unexpected threat named The Mule.
Flight From The Mule

During the war against The Mule, with things going badly for the Foundation, some key figures under the leadership of the Foundation's greatest scientist, Ebling Mis, flee Terminus in search of the Second Foundation, to warn it of the danger from The Mule.

The Mule Finds

The Mule attempts to find and overthrow the Second Foundation.
Star's End

Sixty years later, and a teenage girl is at the centre of the Foundation's renewed search for the Second Foundation.
Changes From The Written Trilogy

The conflict between The Foundation and Anacreon takes place 70 years into the Foundation era; in the novels it occurs at 80 F.E.
A small segment in Foundation titled "Traders" has been removed entirely
General editing for time has been done throughout
A large, rather comedic section on farming on Rossem has been added to "The Mule Finds"

Principal Cast

Geoffrey Beevers as Gaal Dornick
Lee Montague as Salvor Hardin
Julian Glover as Hober Mallow
Dinsdale Landen as Bel Riose
Maurice Denham as Ebling Mis
Angela Pleasence as Bayta
Prunella Scales as Lady Callia

    [url] =>
    [pa] => 
    [publisher] => BN Publishing