Farewell to the East End
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Published
New York : Ecco/HarperCollins, [2013], c2005.
Edition
1st U.S. ed.
Physical Desc
321 pages ; 21 cm.
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Sylvan Grove Public Library618.2On Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
Book
Language
English
ISBN
9780062270061 (pbk.) :, 0062270060 (pbk.) :

Notes

General Note
"First published in Great Britain in 2009 by Weidenfeld & Nicolson" --T.p. verso.
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (p. 321).
Description
When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Here, in the final book of the Call the Midwife trilogy, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty -- unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease -- and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community. A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the books.
Local note
$15.99

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Worth, J., & Coates, T. (20132005). Farewell to the East End (1st U.S. ed.). Ecco/HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Worth, Jennifer, 1935-2011 and Terri. Coates. 20132005. Farewell to the East End. New York: Ecco/HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Worth, Jennifer, 1935-2011 and Terri. Coates. Farewell to the East End New York: Ecco/HarperCollins, 20132005.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Worth, Jennifer, and Terri Coates. Farewell to the East End 1st U.S. ed., Ecco/HarperCollins, 20132005.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.