Before we were yours : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Ballantine Books, [2017].
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
342 pages ; 24 cm
Status
Description
Loading Description...
Also in this Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Barnard Library - Fiction
LX Fic Wingate
On Shelf
Bison Community Library
Fic Wingate, Lisa
On Shelf
Central Kansas Library System - CKLS Rotating Books
RB Fiction WIN
On Shelf
Delphos Public Library - Fiction
FIC Wingate
On Shelf
Downs Carnegie Library - Fiction
FIC Wingate, Lisa
On Shelf
Show All Copies
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Format
Book
Language
English
ISBN
9780425284681, 0425284689
Accelerated Reader
UG
Level 5.1, 18 Points

Notes

Description
"Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"--
Description
"Memphis, Tennessee, 1936. The five Foss children find their lives changed forever when their parents leave them alone on the family shantyboat one stormy night. Rill Foss, just twelve years old, must protect her four younger siblings as they are wrenched from their home on the Mississippi and thrown into the care of the infamous Georgia Tann, director of the Tennessee Children's Home Society. South Carolina, Present Day. Avery Stafford has lived a charmed life. Loving daughter to her father, a U.S. Senator, she has a promising career as an assistant D.A. in Baltimore and is engaged to her best friend. But when Avery comes home to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with a stranger leaves her deeply shaken. Avery's decision to learn more about the woman's life will take her on a journey through her family's long-hidden history"--
Awards
Goodreads Choice Award 2017 (Historical fiction)
Local note
$26.00
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Wingate, L. (2017). Before we were yours: a novel. First edition. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa. 2017. Before We Were Yours: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa, Before We Were Yours: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa. Before We Were Yours: A Novel. First edition. New York: Ballantine Books, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Loading Staff View.